Uncategorized

MMORPGs: Mabinogi & Hello Kitty

I spent a good portion of the summer playing this game called Mabinogi. My favorite thing about it is that a person can me can level up without having to battle all the time.
That was the main reason I stopped paying for my WoW subscription: I had more fun doing the dumb quests like getting milk from a cow than going to the fields next to Ironforge to kill God knows who.   Therefore, I didnt level up that much in the two months I played.
 
There is lots of fighting in Mabinogi, of course.  Common foes (for begginers) are foxes, wolves, raccoons, and bear. But there are like 10 variations of each (with different difficulties).
 
Mabinogi uses this magical Music Macro Language (MML) which is new to me. You basically compose music by translating musical notes, their length and rhythm into a particular code.  I havent actually composed anything yet, but I’ll try when I have more time. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_Macro_Language
 
Another game that caught my attention is a Hello Kitty MMORPG (Hello Kitty Online)  that was announced quite a while ago (and the closed beta started earlier this year).  The game hasnt launched officially yet, but I’ll check it out once it does. My only complaint so far is that it seems you play as a human….instead of an adorable Sanrio character.  Bummer. 😦

 
Leave a Reply

