Knitting and Zen…

So in between 4th of july lazyness and some wine….I’ve found myself knitting again….

With that same green yarn…

Those same wooden needles…

And the same “knit for eternity” pattern…

I think my problem with knitting is that I dont like green yarn and wooden needles.

And now some thrift shop finds! A lovely vase with fake purple flowers…and a friendly little porch friend! A sticker on his back says he’s from Japan. Hm. He needs a name….

I’ve also started reading a lot of books on Zen, after nosying into the bf’s bookshelf.

Im finding that sitting down for a few minutes and focusing on my breathing and the present moment gives me lots of energy for the rest of the day! Im finding it incredibly hard to not start daydreaming or think about what I have to do during the day, but that is part of the learning process.

 This is one book that Im currently reading and enjoying very much:

I also recommend:

Living Buddha, Living Christ  by Thich Nhat Han  …A very good book comparing Christianity and Buddhism. It turns out there are not many differences at all deep down.

Beyond the self, Teaching of the Middle Way by Thich Nhat Han as well…

Zen questions by Robert Allen…A very quick read with some “to the point” information about Zen

2 thoughts on “Knitting and Zen…

  1. I love the whole idea of zen. Very fascinating!

    Sometimes I think about those zen gardens and bonsai trees but then I think I’d probably break it.

    1. You can practice it in many different ways! Gardening is definitely a great way to relax. 🙂 Im thinking of starting a garden soon too!

Leave a Reply

