Crafts

Mohair Blues

This is what happens when you buy something because it’s fluffly and sparkly.

I went to the craft store last week and came back home with a skein of Mary Maxim Mohair Glitter yarn after being mesmerized by the beautiful colors and the soft sparkly glow it had.  Sparkles alone dont usually entrance me so quickly, so  I suspect I also bought it to experiment with a new fiber.

Sparkle Sparkle

Well, I spent a few days just staring at the beautiful skein of yarn, wondering what I would do with it, until last  night when  I decided I would just crochet a simple, double crochet scarf for myself. This is how far I made it…

Notice all the missed stitches on the left, which create that slant on the side

I had issues everywhere….issues with the tension, issues with seeing the stitches and issues with the texture. First, the tension…I usually crochet very tightly, but for this scarf I was trying out an I hook (recommended on the yarn label), which forced me to crochet a lot more loosely that I normally do. Next, seeing the stitches…I always have problem seeing the stitches when its a very dark yarn and also when the stitches themselves are fuzzy. This yarn is of a light color, but I still couldn’t make out where the stitches where after I had made them. This made me miss several of the final stitches and my scarf ended up looking like a funny looking square. And finally, the texture….the yarn looks very soft, but it isn’t. I’m not sure if it’s the nature of mohair or the fact that it has metallic glitter in there that makes it quite rough to the touch.

Something else I’m trying to understand is why is this considered a bulky yarn. The strand itself is super thin, so I was thinking it would be better to crochet this with a much smaller hook. I’m trying to find a “mohair fanatics” site so I can learn more about this yarn and the proper way to use it.

All in all, it was a very good learning experience, but until I figure out how to conquer the mohair I don’t think I will be purchasing it again.

That’s all for now! Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Mohair Blues”

  1. That yarn looks so, so pretty, I know exactly why you were sucked in by it… it’s a shame that it was so hard to work with, because you could make some really lovely things with it. Hopefully you’ll be able to conquer mohair soon!
    xox,
    Cee

Leave a Reply

