Sculpey: Portal Turret

And now for another sculpey experiment: those pesky little turrets from Portal. These were seriously my favorite part of the game and months after finishing portal I still enjoying quoting the little turrets at random.

My sculpey turret

 

The biggest challenge with this figurine was making the little legs and figuring out how to bake them in the right position.

After a little thinking I decided to make an aluminum paper stand that would hold it in the right position while it baked. With the piece of foil you see on the image below I was able to hold the main body in the right position while the skinny little legs baked and  became sturdier.

Securing turret during baking

 One thing missing from this figurine is the tiny antenna the real Portal turrets have on the  upper back of their “heads”. I couldn’t figure out how to make something proportionally thin, so I decided to get rid of it completely. After baking and giving the sculpey a little coat of paint (I could see stains on the white clay) I covered it in gloss and proceeded to enjoy my little turret.

 
" I see you..."

 

If you havent played Portal I highly recommend it. It’s one of my favorite puzzle games and one of the few games that has created a lasting emotional connection.

Have you enjoyed watching my attempts at sculpey figurines? One more sculpey post to come this week!

xoxo,

Laura

2 thoughts on “Sculpey: Portal Turret

    1. Aw, thanks you two! 😀 That’s a good idea! My boyfriend has been asking for a felt or crochet companion cube so we’ll see what kind cube I come up with 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

