Professor Layton and the Last Spectre: post game review

Professor Layton
Image by pasukaru76 via Flickr

So I’ve finished the main story for Professor Layton and the last spectre and I can’t say I am disappointed! The story/mystery was a bit different from what I suspected it would be, but it was still a great plot.  I still have a bunch of puzzles to finish, and most of the bonus content to unlock….so there’s still plenty of Layton to go.

Here are some post game thoughts…

**Plot spoilers begin**

Liked:

London Life….I thought this was a great new addition to the game features. I’m having a lot of fun with my little character and finishing quests like there is no tomorrow.

I thought the whole Loosha/kids story was very darling and it was a good opportunity to showcase  Luke’s gift for understanding animals. I didn’t realize though that it was “I can understand animal speak”

Still wondering what these Mouse badges are for……But great God, Toppy might be my new favorite character.

Will we see Emmy again? I hope so! I really think she is a kick ass character.At first I thought she was Layton’s girlfriend that is introduced in Unwound Future…but then I came to my senses.

Loved how the animated scenes appeared quite often. If there’s one thing I didn’t like about the previous games is that it took an eternity to see a new animated scene.

Bucky’s boat service!…This was a godsend when I realized I was stranded in this one giant city. (see Item #2 in “Didnt care for”)

Didnt care for:

Descole as the main villain….I thought he was introduced sort of randomly as I hadn’t heard of him before (or have I?, I’m not sure.)

One giant city instead of a visit to two places like in most games. (see Bucky’s boat service in “Liked”)

Conclusion:  This is more “Luke’s game”…which I think he really deserved. While the third installment showed us a beautiful love story  (and made me sob like an idiot in the end)…this one gives us a really good background into how Layton and Luke came to know each other.

**End plot spoilers**

So there you have it!  If you have played Professor Layton’s games before then I suggest you run to the shop and get this one. It does not disappoint! 🙂

-Laura

Leave a Reply

