Uncategorized

What I’m reading: As a man thinketh

Hello blog friends! I am back from some fantastic vacations in the deep south and I’m ready for 2012.

Cover of
Cover via Amazon

I wanted to share a book I read during my flight from Alabama, which has really changed the way I think daily. The book is really an essay titled “As a man thinketh” by James Allen.

This little book was a very short read…I read most of it while my plane was taxiing to its terminal! Basically this book makes the argument for how our thoughts shape our actions, and how we can simply improve the circumstances we find ourselves in simply by changing the way we think.

One of my favorite quotes from this book is:

Just as a gardener cultivates his plot, keeping it free from weeds, and growing the flowers and fruits which he requires, so may a man tend the garden of his mind, weeding out all the wrong, useless, and impure thoughts, and cultivating toward perfection the flowers and fruits of right, useful, and pure thoughts.

I think we let our minds stay idle too long, and we let those “weeds” take over our brains  (and us!) . This book has convinced me that in order to make progress in life we need to be deliberate about staying happy (and bringing happiness to others).

I think 2012 is going to be a year for positive thoughts…and in consequence positive circumstances!

I really hope you give this little book a chance….you can read (or listen to) the entire essay here for free  !
Hope you have a great 2012!
xo,
Laura
Leave a Reply

