Books, shows and games I’m enjoying

Oh hai there! I haven’t been around this space for some time, but as you can see below I’ve been staying busy and wandering off into some new lands.

Reading:

a dance with dragons [1153]
a dance with dragons [1153] (Photo credit: brianjmatis)

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin –  I could not wait for season 3 of Game of Thrones to start, and I was nervous about searching for anything online. (SPOILERS! SPOILERS EVERYWHERE!) So I went ahead and read the books that are out so far.

So far “A Clash of Swords” is my favorite. The sheer amount of action, scandal and general awesomeness has set a new bar for how good a book can be.

Discworld series –  I bought the first book today, and I am already giddy with anticipation. From what I hear this is a really funny series sci fi series.

Watching:

That Mitchell and Webb Look – I really enjoyed watching Peep Show and was thrilled to see Netflix had another show by these guys. I don’t think I’ve laughed so much in my life. The very first skit of the show, in which a Nazi soldier realizes they are the “baddies”, had me rolling on the floor. Look for the Scooby Doo skit as well.I’m glad someone has finally pointed out what an insufferable idiot Shaggy is.

That Mitchell and Webb Look
That Mitchell and Webb Look (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hell on Wheels  – I wasnt sure about this show at first, but after watching season 1 I fell in love. It’s a very simple show, and the acting is not out of this world, but this show is trying, dammit!

The Wire – Some friends introduced me to this series, and I got the first season as a Christmas present! I’ll try to start watching this soon.

Playing:

Botanicula – I was a huge fan of Samorost 1 & 2 and Machinarium, so there was no question about buying Amanita Design latest game. I think this one will be my favorite. The game has a breathtaking perspective of what goes on in a tree, and I am a fan of the adorable game characters. Do yourself a favor and buy this game here or on Steam. (I was able to snag it during the winter sale for cheaps…but $10 is a very fair price.)

Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask – Another no brainer. The entire Layton series has been a delight to play. However, I have to admit that the puzzles in this game are my least favorite.  The puzzles were either too simple or nearly impossible for me to figure out. STILL, the story was so moving I could not put the game down. Plus a downloadable puzzle everyday for a year? Fantastic!

Professor Layton and the Mask of Miracle
Professor Layton and the Mask of Miracle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(Soon!) Ni no Kuni : Wrath of the White Witch – I dont even have a PS3, but I could not miss Studio Ghibli’s + Level 5’s new game. Thankfully, an amazing friend will be loaning me his PS3 so I can play this game. I seriously cannot wait.

Doing:

Flow Yoga – I adore my yoga teacher, and for the first time in my life…Im feeling strong (physically)! Considering I spend so much of my time sitting down in front of a computer, some physical exercise is a great change to my routine.  Bird of Paradise  and Half Moon Pose are two challenging poses I’m learning. I still need a block for the latter, but its really fun to focus on my balance.

Do you enjoy or need to warn me about any of the above? Let me know in the comments!

Hope your 2013 is off to a great start!

-LC

P.S. – Contrary to how this post sounds, I am not being sponsored by any of the Companies/Products on this post…They are just awesome things I wanted to recommend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

