Uncategorized

DIY Tshirt headbands & accessories

I’ve been experimenting with new materials a lot lately and one of them is T-shirt yarn! T-shirt yarn is basically a long strip of t-shirt fabric that can be used as a heavy weight yarn for any craft.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Last year when I started my venture into designing for Darby Smart, I picked several skeins of T-shirt yarn to play with. I racked my brain for a while on how to use them, and recently came up with several fun ideas: bracelets, necklaces and my favorite…. headbands!

SAMSUNG CSC

Tshirt yarn will make chunky and lasting accessories, and if you make your own T-shirt yarn you can easily start a whole collection of color coordinated accessories. This material is also perfect for exercise headbands as they will absorb sweat and are very easy to care for.

SAMSUNG CSC

To create any of these, just follow these guidelines. This is the example for a chunky headband, but the instructions are the same for necklaces or bracelets.

  1. Find some tshirt yarn and a large crochet hook :
    1. I used an I size crochet hook, try out some different hooks to find your perfect fit. Usually, the bigger the hook, the looser the stitches will be.
    2. To make your own tshirt yarn check out this tutorial. You can also buy the one I used here.
  2. Start a crochet chain and keep going until the chain is long enough to go around your head comfortably.
    1. For basic crochet tutorials, check YouTube
  3. Slip stitch the beginning of the chain to the end
  4. (Optional) Start a new row over your chain in whatever stitch you prefer. I wanted a dense head band so I made a row of half double crochet.
  5. Try on the headband  as you crochet it, that way if its too tight or too lose you can start from the top quickly.
  6. Once you’re happy with the fit and size of your accessory, cut the end of the yarn and fasten off.

And tah-dah! You’ve got your new t-shirt yarn accessory.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

I took my very patriotic headband to yoga class and it worked like a charm! It kept stray hairs and sweat off my face. It fell off once during a forward fold towards the end of class, but its quite comfortable now so I wouldn’t tighten it any more than it is.  The best thing is, you can hand wash these or throw them in the washing machine, like you would any t-shirt.

I hope you can try this out, let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks!

L.C.

P.S. – This isn’t a sponsored post, but I did get the tshirt yarn compliments of Darby Smart.

2 thoughts on “DIY Tshirt headbands & accessories”

Leave a Reply

